forums

welcome! please login or register.

Bored-room eyes? (43 comments)
pages in this discussion: 1 2 next>>

Bored-room eyes?

Friday, June 27, 2008 - 12:06 AM

A reader writes... Q: I'm a high school graduate headed off to college this fall. About three weeks ago I began a friendly relationship with a guy from my work. He is in his early 30s, but all it has been is friendly. We started exchanging text messages and e-mails and two weeks ago attended a client's BBQ together. I had a blast! Since then, we have gone to the mall, the movies and the beach together. I have never considered anything physical because of the huge age difference. People at our work have started to talk about us, and assume we are intimate. My mother just found out about him, and although she trusts me, she thinks that the only reason he has anything to do with me is because he wants sex. I know he is attracted to me. To be honest, I would consider a "friends with benefits" deal if it came down to it, because I would not want to lose his friendship. Is boredom a terrible reason to have sex with someone?
Murgatroyd
Lover

Jan 2008
Re: Bored-room eyes? (Score: 1)
posted Friday, June 27, 2008 - 02:26 AM (#43523)

I know he is attracted to me. To be honest, I would consider a “friends with benefits” deal if it came down to it, because I would not want to lose his friendship. Is boredom a terrible reason to have sex with someone?

Why do you call it boredom? Sounds like friendship to me. And friendship often is a very good reason to deepen a relationship. But ...

I began a friendly relationship with a guy from my work.

Here's the reason not to do it! Ask yourself this: What's the end game to this relationship? Eventually this relationship will end, unless you think he'd marry you.* How will you get along at work when the relationship is over?