forums

welcome! please login or register.

POLL RESULTS: Raising a racquet over a sperm donor: (21 comments)

POLL: Raising a racquet over a sperm donor

Friday, November 13, 2009 - 12:00 AM

A reader writes... Q: I am a ski instructor and tennis pro. Last winter I gave a married couple ski lessons every weekend; they quickly became my best clients. The woman later began private tennis lessons with me and has subsequently filled my tennis programs with her friends and friends' kids. The husband is very cool and looks much like me; people say we look like brothers and we've joked that I'm his doppelganger. Now here's where it gets sticky. The husband has cancer and is impotent; they really want a family. They were reviewing overseas adoption and a friend of hers said, "How about that tennis pro as your sperm donor?" They approached me as a couple. It was a little weird and I asked for a little time to consider this. They made me a cash offer I don't think I can refuse, but I don't want to shoot myself in the foot and have my house of cards come tumbling down. Any thoughts here?

POLL: The tennis pro should

52% (788) Practice his best overhand and serve! After all, in tennis, 'love' means nothing

5% (78) Decline. If his sperm misses the mark, they might subconsciously find him at fault

3% (58) They shouldn't ask this of their tennis instructor! Don't they have a Pool Boy?

37% (564) Did he *really* say "Now here's where it gets sticky" and then worry about shooting himself in the foot?
1488 people have voted in this poll. (This poll is not active.)
CasualNotice
Lover

Jun 2008
Re: POLL: Raising a racquet over a sperm donor (Score: 1)
posted Friday, November 13, 2009 - 12:38 AM (#50066)

Honestly, if he can reconcile himself witht he issues of having a child that isn't legally his, I see nothing wrong with helping the couple out for some cold hard cash.

Locked profile
akkhima
Lover

Apr 2009
posted Friday, November 13, 2009 - 01:08 AM (#50067)